Coffee Talk with Jill from Maggie May’s Gifts

Jill

Last week I had the fun opportunity to sit down and chat with Jill from Maggie May’s Gifts. (While grabbing coffee with Jill would’ve been SO much better, we had to settle for a phone date this time.)

Jill has been crafting as long as she can remember. One of her very first projects was a purse made from paper and staples, which was inspired by a purse she saw at the store. From there, her craftiness soared. In college, she sold handmade jewelry, going door-to-door in her dorm.

What kinds of crafts do you do now?

I started a handmade greeting card company a while back, but got worn out after a while. Then, just a couple of years ago, I started making cards again. Crafting is one of those things where you just keep coming back.

Card Collage text

How did you get started with blogging?

I just recently discovered blogging as a way to share what I’ve created. I just use it as a way to show others what I’m doing, and I hope to inspire others to create.

What inspires you to create?

I am very practical with my crafts. I am all about using things I already have. I get my ideas for projects at random times, so I keep little notebooks everywhere around my house so I can capture ideas when they strike. A lot of people don’t think they’re creative, so I hope to spark ideas in others.

Any other thoughts?

When I create, I ask myself, “How am I serving with this?” Right now I’m currently on a mission to donate 500 volunteer-made cards for kids and teens in local foster and group homes. You can read more about this on my blog under “Maggie’s Missions”.

craft collage text

Thank you, Jill, for joining us for Coffee Talk!

if you like to craft...

