Tablet envelope cover

Last summer, my father gave me his ipad before I headed back to school for my final year in college. Since then, this little guy has been helping me through a year of senior thesis, stack-ful of papers, countless hours of bus ride, plane ride, Skype talks; 5 seasons of Grey Anatomy and now grad school. It’s an understatement to say that I’M IN LOVE and as a gesture of love, I decided to give it new clothes to replace the old worn out case.

This time, I used Craftistas’ envelope clutch as inspiration for my design. Before starting, I have to admit that my sewing skill is below average so if you’re not confident with needle and thread, don’t be intimidated! An uneven thread line can be surprisingly charming =). Ready? Get. Set. Go!

You will need felt, cute fabric, fabric glue/E-6000 glue, a button (or velcro) needle, and thread. Easy, huh? This case developed as I worked on it so I’m sorry that I don’t have a picture of all the materials.

First, make measurements of your tablet and cut the felt like so

so that when folded, it will look like this

You can use 1 piece of felt for the whole thing. In my case, my felt wasn’t big enough so I had to use a few small pieces.

Next, glue the felt onto the fabric

Wait 10 minutes for the glue to dry then cut out the fabric, leaving about an inch around the edge of the felt.

Hem it! And again, don’t be scare, it doesn’t need to be perfect.

You should get something like this

Then, locate where your button should be on the bottom flap and sew it in. If you’re tired of sewing already, skip the last steps and just stick on velcro.

Snip a hole on the top flap, just enough for your button to slide through

Sew a round it and you’re almost there!

Now start folding

Glue the side flaps on to the bottom flap

VOILA! You did it! Now pamper your tablet with a brand new snugly cover. How cute and easy is that?

Feel free to be creative and decorate the other side with embellishment, a tiny pocket for your earphone or a monogram. Get crafty and don’t forget to share your creation with us on our facebook page!

Have a wonderful Sunday, everyone!

Tra

