Crafting from cardboard

Inspiration from Joshua Parr

I try my best to not be wasteful. I always try to see something for what it could be. I have grown into the habit of hesitation before throwing something out. I’m not talking about every single piece of trash, but I try to find a way to re-purpose that object. Six months ago I moved to New York City, population over 8 million. That’s a lot of trash. As you can imagine, I come across a lot of stuff being tossed out. However, the first project I started was from my own trash.

Having just moved to NYC, I visited the greatest store in the world IKEA.

After putting together all the furniture I purchased I had boxes piled up ready to go to the dump. I picked out a few pieces of cardboard that were used as box padding for my dresser. These pieces stuck out to me because of their unique designs. I decided to use these for some wall art to spice up my room.

I took the cardboard pieces and cut them into different sizes and widths and then lined them up on the floor in an interesting design.

I took the cardboard pieces and cut them into different sizes and widths and then lined them up on the floor in an interesting design.

